RWTH Aachen University

RWTH Aachen University

RWTH Aachen University was founded 1870 as a public polytechnic school. Since the RWTH has developed to a leading Technical University and in Europe. It is member of the IDEA League, TU9 and belongs to the nine German Universities which were awarded the “excellence” status. Currently 47.000 students are enrolled at the RWTH. The academic staff comprises 553 Professors and mor than 6000 other academic members. The Institute of Steel Construction, which will participate in this research project, is one of the founding members of the RWTH University.


Benno Hoffmeister

Leader of the structural dynamics, steel, timber and frp group, has extensive experience in the field of material characterization and actively involved in the development and certification of innovative structural elements.

Damian Händeler

Scientific assistant at the Institute of Steel Construction at RWTH Aachen University. Experienced in CAD-software as well as in experimental and numerical investigations of steel structures.